GT Thompson looking for House Ag committee chairman

WASHINGTON — The House Agriculture Committee is expected to see new leadership in January, with Republicans favored to take a majority with about 60 races to be called. In the Senate, a handful of races were too close to be called, so control of that chamber and its agriculture committee was yet to be determined in the aftermath of the 2022 midterm elections.

If the GOP gains control of the lower house, ranking Republican member Glenn “GT” Thompson of Pennsylvania could become the chairman of House Agriculture. Besides Mr. Thompson, Republican House Committee members who won re-election bids included Austin Scott of Georgia, Rick Crawford of Arkansas, Scott DesJarlais of Tennessee, Doug LaMalfa of California, David Rouzer of North Carolina , Trent Kelly of Mississippi, Don Bacon of Nebraska, Dusty Johnson of South Dakota, Jim Baird of Indiana, Troy Balderson of Ohio, Michael Cloud of Texas, Tracey Mann of Kansas, Randy Feenstra of Iowa, Mary Miller from Illinois, Barry Moore from Alabama, Kat Cammack from Florida and Michelle Fischbach from Minnesota.

Republican members leaving the committee included Vicky Hartzler of Missouri, who lost a primary nomination; Rodney Davis of Illinois, whose district was eliminated; Chris Jacobs of New York, who retired from Congress; and Mayra Flores of Texas, who was defeated in the general election by Democrat Vicente Gonzalez.

On the Democratic side of the aisle, current committee chairman David Scott of Georgia won his re-election bid. Jim Costa of California, Jim McGovern of Massachusetts, Alma Adams of North Carolina, Abigail Spanberger of Virginia, Shontel Brown of Ohio, Chellie Pingree of Maine, Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan of the Northern Marianas, Ann McClane are also expected to retain seats in the room. Kuster from New Hampshire, Delegate Stacey Plaskett from the Virgin Islands, Salud Carbajal from California, Ro Khanna from California, Lou Correa from California, Angie Craig from Minnesota, Josh Harder from California, Kim Schrier from Washington, Jimmy Panetta from California, Bishop of Sanford of Georgia, Marcy Kaptur of Ohio and Sharice Davids of Kansas.

The re-election bids of Jahana Hayes of Connecticut, Tom O’Halleran of Arizona and Cindy Axne of Iowa were too close to be announced the day after the midterm elections, news sources said. national.

Democrat Sean Patrick Maloney of New York lost to Republican Mike Lawler. Democrat Al Lawson of Florida lost his seat to Republican Rep. Neal Dunn after running in another district when his was eliminated.

Democrats Bobby Rush and Cheri Bustos, both of Illinois, will retire from the House at the end of the 117th Congress.

Control of the US Senate was still at stake in the aftermath of the midterm elections. After the Democrats flipped one seat (Pennsylvania), the parties each had 48 seats secured. If the Democrats retained their narrow majority (with deciding votes managed by Vice President Kamala Harris), the Senate Ag Committee would remain under the control of Senator Debbie Stabenow of Michigan, who won re-election in 2018. Senator Michael Bennet of Colorado retained his seat against Republican challenger Joe O’Dea. Sen. Raphael Warnock of Georgia will face a runoff against Republican challenger Herschel Walker.

Other committee members not eligible for re-election in 2022 include Sherrod Brown of Ohio, Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota, Kirsten Gillibrand of New York, Tina Smith of Minnesota, Richard Durbin of Illinois, Cory Booker of New Jersey, and Ben Ray Luján. from New Mexico. ,

Among the members leaving the committee is Democrat Patrick Leahy, who will retire from Congress in January.

If the GOP prevailed in the tight race for control of the Senate, Republican committee member John Boozman of Arkansas was to become the president. Committee member John Hoeven of North Dakota won re-election in place of Democratic challenger Katrina Christiansen. Member Charles Grassley of Iowa defeated Democrat Michael Franken to retain his seat. And South Dakota’s John Thune won reelection over Democratic challenger Brian Bengs.

Republican committee members not re-elected in 2022 included Mitch McConnell of Kentucky, Joni Ernst of Iowa, Cindy Hyde-Smith of Mississippi, Roger Marshall of Kansas, Tommy Tuberville of Alabama, Deb Fischer of Nebraska and Mike Braun of ‘Indiana.